Has The Church Sinned Against Lesbians, Ex-Lesbians, Gays, Ex-Gays, And If So How Has It Sinned Against Them?

This is an open question, open to all who want to answer. I invite answers from those who identify themselves as homosexuals who believe they have been sinned against by the Church. I invite answers from those who are in unity with the Church. I invite those who have come out of homosexuality to comment as well.
Here are some questions which I believe we as a Church need to considered: 
  • Have some churches not been welcoming to spiritually searching gays and lesbians?
  • Do we, as a church, think more along the lines that acting out on one’s same sex attractions is a worse sin than gossip and private idolatries which do run rampant in our churches?
  • Do some of our churches experience homophobia and or even hatred towards those who act out their same sex attractions?

Know that I am not saying that acting out on one’s same sex attractions sexually is not a sin.  The Bible specifically says it, homosexuality, is sinful.  And I do believe personally that yes it, homosexuality, is a sin.  I am merely asking if the Church is being sinful towards fellow sinners?

I believe that God instructs us to not judge the lost (those who have not accepted His Son Christ Jesus as their personal Savior) Judging the lost is actually one of God’s tasks. 

For those homosexuals who profess to be followers of Jesus, the Bible instructs us to rebuke them in and with love after we have examined our own sins first. I believe that even if, as individuals, we have not personally sinned against anyone who identifies themselves as a homosexual, we need to realize that we are in unity with the Church and because of this unity there are actually corporate sins in which we share.

And, again, even though I am not condoning homosexuality I do believe that in many instances the Church has indeed corporately sinned against many homosexuals. If you do believe the Church has sinned against those who sexually act out their same sex attractions what do you believe the Church should do with this matter, with this corporate sin?
3 responses to “Has The Church Sinned Against Lesbians, Ex-Lesbians, Gays, Ex-Gays, And If So How Has It Sinned Against Them?

  1. Shawna Nordhoff

    yes – when we place sexual sin as worse than other sins, we are being sinful. All sinners need to be supported and encouraged and prayed for and held accountable whether it is gossip, drug or alcohol addiction, adultery or homosexuality. It is all sin. I have been recently convicted on rationalizing away my own sin while fearing another’s sin.

  2. Yes, I think another way that we sin is by not discussing the issue and not providing resources for how to handle one’s same sex attractions. I definitely think that those with same sex attractions are still ‘in the closet’ at church and this shouldn’t be the case.

    • Oh Jennie I so agree with your statement that another way we sin is by not discussing the issue and by not providing resources for how to handle one’s same sex attraction. Scripture specifically tells us in Corinthians that we are to be there for others who go through the same things we have already gone through.

      So many pastors are afraid to have myself or other former homosexuals share our testimony with the church body. They are afraid of being politically correct.

      I recently spoke to a church here in northern California. The pastor shared with me afterwards how amazed he was at how many people came up to he and I afterwards to talk of this matter. Almost everyone of them shared how glad they were to finally have someone speak to the matter at their church. I was there for almost three hours after church services speaking to folks in groups and individually on the matter of homosexuality.

      I was so exhausted afterwards but I am not complaining. It was a good exhaustion.

      Pastors your flock wants to talk about this matter . . . provide them with those of us who have come out of this life . . . it is a Scriptual thing

Leave a Reply

